Improving Inadequate Sound on the Sony VAIO VPCEB15FM

Imagine my surprise when I found that my new Sony VAIO’s speakers were less than outstanding. It’s a Sony. Don’t we have a right to be impressed?

The sound watching a blu-ray was hard to hear. Turning up all the volume sliders I could find in Windows didn’t help. And when I did push the volume to max, some songs and videos became distorted. What? How could this be?

I ran the unit back to Best Buy and the techno Geek walked through all the same Windows sound dialogs I experimented with. He came to the same conclusion.

“The sound’s kinda weak.”

Yeah, that’s what I was thinking.

He explained that that’s not all that unusual on laptops. Refusing to believe that my Sony was in the same realm as an Acer or an E-Machine, I sound-tested all the laptops Best Buy had (again) and came to a similar conclusion. While the Toshibas with Harmon Kardon speakers were awesome almost all the other units had less than ideal sound. In the end I left with the VAIO in hand since, even with sound issues, I couldn’t find a unit as pleasurable to use. I figured I’d just put up with it. Use bluetooth headphones or something.

A few days later, I did some more digging into the sound dialogs and tried this tab. The first time I had checked the boxes on it, nothing happened. I thought maybe I needed an upgrade (that I wasn’t going to buy). But when I tried it this time, they stuck.

Dolby Speaker Properties dialog

I had to make sure nothing was using the sound system to get this change to show up, I noticed. Once I restarted the music player, the improvement was immediately evident.

Thinking that the loudness filter would now become helpful, I enabled that, too.

Loudness setting

The sound was even better.

Now, I’m running the speakers at 80% and the sound on the video player/music player at 100%. The sound is great, with just the occasional distortion at really loud moments. And I can feel good again about choosing the Sony.

If only the techno Geek at Best Buy had known to enable these settings. Could have saved me a lot of grief worrying that I was settling.

Published in: on June 2, 2010 at 6:53 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dmcmeans.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/improving-inadequate-sound-on-the-sony-vaio-vpceb15fm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can anybody help me out….How to turn the bluetooth ON in Sony vaio vpceb15fm.

  2. The vpceb15fm doesn’t have bluetooth natively. Use a USB to Bluetooth adapter.

  3. Wow….I am having SONY-VPCEB15FM and this trick worked perfectly. Many thanks 🙂

  4. I am having one of those laptops too.

  5. I just got a VPCZ1 (top of the line a generation or two ago) the speakers sound HORRIBLE…my previous VGNZ would have much louder speakers. Like you, I’m kinda regretting the upgrade only because of this issue. Obviously trying to do something about it but the checkboxes don’t see to be making any difference.

  6. I have a VPCEB3E1E and followed these steps. I went from a distorted tinny sound to a nice clear sound with the ability to hear both the highs and lows.


Leave a Reply

