Amazon Video on Demand Review

I recently purchased a Roku box and noticed that one of the apps it came with is “Amazon Video on Demand.” Since our internet speed is not that great, I didn’t think that would work very well, so I made no plans to “rent” a video from Amazon.

Recently, I wanted to watch “Guardians of Ga’Hoole,” and since RedBox didn’t have it, I had to buy it. Target listed it for $30, but Amazon had it for $10 less, but I would have to wait with Amazon.

Hmmm….. Is $10 worth having it right now?

Then I noticed Amazon offered a free video on demand viewing with purchase. Ah, the pieces are starting to fit. I see how Amazon intends to compete now. Makes sense.

But, it won’t be blu ray quality. Will it be worth the $10 savings to watch it in lower quality? Will that be enjoyable, or will I feel like I settled for less?

I decided to give it a try. Trying it is really the only way to see if I’ll like it. And, I’ve noticed that the paid services on the Roku are superior to the free ones. Over my 1.5 Meg DSL connection, which runs from 0.9 to 1.2 Meg, HuluPlus looks really good on the Roku. Hulu still halts several times during a video.

Well, the results were surprising. The video quality, while not full HD, of course, was very good. Much more detail than I expected. More than enough to enjoy an animation like Guardians. And the video never paused. Not once.

So, would I rent a movie from Amazon? Maybe. But I’ll certainly buy a movie I want to see right now for a lower price and watch the video on demand copy they provide.

Published in: on December 28, 2010 at 8:30 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dmcmeans.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/amazon-video-on-demand-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ∑ Access and add to their virtual library of purchases via Amazon Video On Demand’s Your Video Library, and re-watch them anytime on the Roku Player or online with a PC, MAC or other compatible device. ∑ Watch new release movies the same day that they are released on DVD. Hit titles such as “The Dark Knight,” “Hancock,” “Pineapple Express”, “Tropic Thunder” and hundreds more that are not currently available on the Roku Player. ∑ Enjoy instant playback, no downloading, no waiting and no subscription fee. ∑ Browse Amazon.com’s huge selection of over 40,000 movies and TV shows for rent or purchase. ∑ Enjoy Amazon Video On Demand’s high-quality video through its use of the advanced h.264 codec and an automatic bandwidth detection feature that seamlessly plays back the best quality file at either 300, 600, 900 or 1200 kbps. ∑ Easily setup their Roku Player using its built-in Wi-Fi connection and begin watching videos within minutes. ∑ Connect their Roku Player to any television set using HDMI, Component Video, Composite Video, S-Video, Stereo Audio or Optical Audio connections.

  2. I couldn’t refvrain from commenting. Exceptionally well
    written!

    ethiopian tv live
    modesto bee local news

  3. really interesting and well written. Almost felt like I was there! Click http://www.l33turl.com/monday091730


Leave a comment